Musings of a phenomenologist

Science, psychiatry and random musings

Old rambles…

Posted by soveda on September 8, 2008

This is just a little collection of rambling thoughts from a previously maintained blog:

Coming of age films:

What is the best form for the coming of age film?
I was pondering this after a discussion on another forum. I posted a few of my favorite “coming of age” films and it was pointed out to me that all of them were “fantasy” as metaphor for coming of age. These are they:

Mirrormask – fabulous, beautiful and moving
Labyrinth – Hasn’t dated as badly as I thought it would and referenced in Mirrormask!
The Company of Wolves – Dated badly, I thought it was great when I first saw it but now I’m a bit dubious about it.
Spirited Away – another marvel, and the english language voices aren’t too irritating!

A discussion then ensued as to what constituted the Genre.
Was “The Breakfast Club” or “The Wizard of OZ” a coming of age film (No and Yes respectively but not as much as Return to OZ).
So what is it about the genre that is so appealing? Is it remembering our own innocence and the time we lost it? Is it a harking back to a time when we had no responsibilities and no concept of how we affected other people? Or do we like to see others learning to suffer? Film as voyeurism (a discussion for another day).
Or is it something else?
I still don’t know and I think I never will but to close this post, if you haven’t seen Mirrormask then watch it and marvel at the dream logic. Oh and play spot the Labyrinth references, no clues from me.
FYI this is the list of films that was suggested by myself and the other people in the discussion:
Mirrormask
Labyrinth

The Company of WolvesSpirited Away
Stand by Me
The Breakfast Club
Breaking Away
The Year My Voice Broke
Legend
The Squid and the Whale
My Life As A Dog
The Wizard of Oz
Diabolo Menthe
Bridge to Terabithia.
My Brilliant Career
Pelle the Conqueror
The Four Hundred Blows
Kidulthood
The Bar Mitzvah boy
Kes
Billy Elliot
Cinema Paradiso
Return to Oz
Treasures of the Snow

Leave a Reply

 
