Musings of a phenomenologist

Science, psychiatry and random musings

When is a prison not a prison?

Posted by soveda on September 9, 2008

I woke up today to the following story which was the lead headline:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/today/hi/today/newsid_7604000/7604920.stm

And (rather predictably) after I decided that there was no way the day could get worse until I heard the “interview” of Louis Appleby by John Humphrys.

I have listened to Radio 4 for a long time and get woken up by Today and so I am used to the haranguing style of “interview” and this was a classic example. No quarter was given in the search for a headline, I mean truth.

Let’s examine the basis for this story:

<p class=”MsoNormal

3 Responses to “When is a prison not a prison?”

  1. dvnutrix said

    I sometimes wonder if the presenters understand or even care about the way that their spin on the story comes across and its contribution to the demonisation and stigma of mental illness.

    It probably doesn’t help that all sorts of illnesses and diagnoses are bandied about to explain celebrities behaving badly. This sometimes undermines any belief that some addictions or mental illnesses are genuine.

  2. jdc325 said

    Interesting stuff Soveda and I agree with your point of view on this subject. I recall a BBC story headed “Mentally ill unlikely to commit murder” here and a Bad Science column about an analysis of homicides in the mentally ill compared with the general population: here. Unfortunately, these were exceptions to the journalistic rule.

  3. soveda said

    Thank you for the kind comments, I have edited some of the spelling in the post as my ire led to even more errors than usual.

Leave a Reply

 
